About Kniwwelino

The Kniwwelino hardware is the first micro-controller development platform entirely designed for children attending fundamental schools and “maisons relais” in Luxembourg. The name Kniwwelino is a composition of the luxembourgish word "kniwweln", that means to craft something, "ino"should show the deep affinity to the Arduino ecosystem and finally "Lino"as a name has a relation to lion, which is the heraldic animal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.


The programming can be done with a visual programming tool in the browser. The resulting programs can than be uploaded to the Kniwwelino over the Internet. For programming beginners a website will provide project and programming examples to be directly used or to be the starting point for first code modifications. After learning step-by-step the basics to programming the Kniwwelino the children can express their own creativity by implementing own ideas.


The Kniwwelino hardware consists of a 5x5 LEDs matrix, a RGB LED and two push buttons. There are additional ports that can be used to extend the board by additional sensors and other peripherals. The underlaying micro-controller platform is also embedding a Wi-Fi stack. That enables the Kniwwelino to connect itself to other Kniwwelinos over the Internet. By implementing standard IoT message protocols, like MQTT it could be easily be integrated in existing IoT installations. The small size of the printed circuit board makes it possible to embed the Kniwwelino in nearly every crafted enclosure or object to not limit the development of the child's creativity.

Who we are

Currently, we are a team of four researchers and engineers, highly motivated to develop the Kniwwelino platform:

  • Valérie Maquil, R&T Associate at LIST, Coordinator
  • Christian Moll, Engineer at LIST, Lead Developer
  • Johannes Hermen, Engineer at LIST
  • Lou Schwartz, R&T Associate at LIST

In addition, the following students contributed to the project:

  • John-Nathan Hill, Télécom Physique Strasbourg
  • Henrique Rangel, Polytech Grenoble

How to buy?

Kniwwelino is available for purchase at Electronic-Shop.lu.



Download area


Visual programing with KniwwelinoBlockly (desktop version) - for beginners 

Online visual programing available in spring 2018

Kniwwelino Arduino library available on GitHub - for advanced users


Documentation and Instructions

More documentation is available on http://doku.kniwwelino.lu/.


Kniwwelino is developed by LIST in the scope of the project Bee Creative for Kids, in collaboration with SNJ and SCRIPT, supported by the FNR.

Contact us


You wish to know more or to be associated with this project?
Contact us directly.

An initiative of the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
5, avenue des Hauts Fourneaux
L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette
Tel: +352 275 888-1  / Mail: infolistlu

Kniwwelino

Das Kniwwelino ist das erste in Luxemburg entwickelte Mikrokontroller Entwicklungsboard speziell für Kinder im Grundschulalter. Der Name Kniwwelino setzt sich aus dem luxemburgischen Wort „kniwweln“ für etwas basteln, „ino“ das die technische Verwandtschaft und Kompatibilität zur Arduino Platform symbolisiert und der Kurzform des Vornamens Linoardo („Lino“) zusammen, der den Bezug zum luxemburgischen Wappentier dem Löwen herstellt.


Die Programmierung kann mit einem visuellen Programmiertool im Browser erfolgen. Das so erzeugte Programm wird über das Internet auf das Kniwwelino geladen. Dabei können die ersten Programmierversuche mit vorgefertigten Beispielen erfolgen, die dann mit zunehmenden Kenntnissen abgeändert und erweitert werden können. Darüber hinaus können Kinder eigene Ideen für Projekte mit der visuellen Programmiersprache realisieren und für das Nachbauen durch andere Kinder dokumentieren und auf der Internetplattform des Kniwwelino veröffentlichen.


Die Hardware des Kniwwelino verfügt selbst schon über eine LED Matrix von 5x5 Pixeln, eine RGB LED und zwei Taster zur Eingabe. Der verwendete Mikrokontroller beinhaltet auch eine Wifi Schnittstelle, so dass man auch einfach mehrere Kniwwelino über das Internet verbinden kann. Weitere externe Sensoren können auf einfache Art und Weise angeschlossen werden. Das Kniwwelino kann durch seine geringe Größe einfach in bestehende oder selbst gebastelte Objekte eingebettet werden, so sind fast keine Grenzen zur Entfaltung der eigenen Kreativität gesetzt.

Wer wir sind

Zur Zeit sind wir sind ein verköpfiges Team, welches mit viel Engagement die Kniwwelino Plattform entwickelt:

  • Valérie Maquil, R&T Associate bei LIST, Koordinatorin
  • Christian Moll, Engineer bei LIST, Leitender Entwickler
  • Johannes Hermen, Engineer bei LIST
  • Lou Schwartz, R&T Associate bei LIST


Ausserdem haben folgende Studenten zum Projekt beigetragen:

  • John-Nathan Hill, Télécom Physique Strasbourg
  • Henrique Rangel, Polytech Grenoble

Wie kaufen?

Das Kniwwelino ist im Handel erhältlich bei: Electronic-Shop.lu

Downloads

Software

Visuelle Programmierung mit KniwwelinoBlockly (Desktop Version) - für Beginner

Visuelle Programmierung online im Browser verfügbar im Frühling 2018

Kniwwelino Arduino Bibliothek verfügbar auf GitHub - für Fortgeschrittene 

 

Anleitungen

Verbindung mit einem neuen Wifi Netz

Beispielprojekt Freundschaftsband

Beispielprojekt Schere-Stein-Papier

 

Dokumentation

Weitere Dokumentation ist hier erhältlich (auf Englisch).

Partner

Das Kniwwelino wird vom LIST im Rahmen des Projektes Bee Creative for Kids, in Zusammenarbeit mit SNJ und SCRIPT, unterstützt durch den FNR, entwickelt.

Kontakt

Sie wollen mehr über unser Projekt erfahren?

Eine Initiative vom Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
5, avenue des Hauts Fourneaux
L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette
Tel: +352 275 888-1  / Mail: infolistlu