About Kniwwelino

The Kniwwelino hardware is the first micro-controller development platform entirely designed for children attending fundamental schools and “maisons relais” in Luxembourg. The name Kniwwelino is a composition of the luxembourgish word "kniwweln", that means to craft something, "ino"should show the deep affinity to the Arduino ecosystem and finally "Lino"as a name has a relation to lion, which is the heraldic animal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.


The programming can be done with a visual programming tool in the browser. The resulting programs can than be uploaded to the Kniwwelino over the Internet. For programming beginners a website will provide project and programming examples to be directly used or to be the starting point for first code modifications. After learning step-by-step the basics to programming the Kniwwelino the children can express their own creativity by implementing own ideas.


The Kniwwelino hardware consists of a 5x5 LEDs matrix, a RGB LED and two push buttons. There are additional ports that can be used to extend the board by additional sensors and other peripherals. The underlaying micro-controller platform is also embedding a Wi-Fi stack. That enables the Kniwwelino to connect itself to other Kniwwelinos over the Internet. By implementing standard IoT message protocols, like MQTT it could be easily be integrated in existing IoT installations. The small size of the printed circuit board makes it possible to embed the Kniwwelino in nearly every crafted enclosure or object to not limit the development of the child's creativity.

Who we are

Currently, we are a team of four researchers and engineers, highly motivated to develop the Kniwwelino platform:

  • Valérie Maquil, R&T Associate at LIST, Coordinator
  • Christian Moll, Engineer at LIST, Lead Developer
  • Johannes Hermen, Engineer at LIST
  • Lou Schwartz, R&T Associate at LIST

In addition, the following students contributed to the project:

  • John-Nathan Hill, Télécom Physique Strasbourg
  • Henrique Rangel, Polytech Grenoble

How to buy?

Kniwwelino is available for purchase at Electronic-Shop.lu.



Download area


Visual programing with KniwwelinoBlockly (desktop version) - for beginners 

Online visual programing available in spring 2018

Kniwwelino Arduino library available on GitHub - for advanced users


Documentation and Instructions

More documentation is available on http://doku.kniwwelino.lu/.


Kniwwelino is developed by LIST in the scope of the project Bee Creative for Kids, in collaboration with SNJ and SCRIPT, supported by the FNR.

Contact us


You wish to know more or to be associated with this project?
Contact us directly.

An initiative of the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
5, avenue des Hauts Fourneaux
L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette
Tel: +352 275 888-1  / Mail: infolistlu

Présentation de Kniwwelino

Kniwwelino est la première plateforme de développement pour microcontrôleur entièrement pensée pour les enfants fréquentant l’enseignement fondamental et les maisons relais au Grand-Duché du Luxembourg. Le nom Kniwwelino est composé du mot luxembourgeois « kniwweln »  qui signifie créer quelque chose, du suffixe « ino » pour montrer le lien avec l’écosystème Arduino et de « Lino » qui est un prénom luxembourgeois signifiant « lion », le lion étant l’animal héraldique du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

La programmation s’effectue avec un outil de programmation visuelle en ligne qui permet de charger sur le Kniwwelino les programmes ainsi créés. En outre, pour les débutants notre documentation propose des projets et des exemples de codes qui pourront être soit directement utilisés, soit modifiés. Après avoir appris étape par étape les bases de la programmation avec Kniwwelino, les enfants pourront exprimer toute leur créativité en développant leurs propres idées.

Le microcontrôleur Kniwwelino est composé d’une matrice carrée de 5x5 diodes électroluminescentes (DEL), d’une DEL polychromatique et de deux boutons. Des ports supplémentaires permettent d’ajouter d’autres capteurs ou périphériques. Le microcontrôleur intègre également une puce Wi-Fi permettant à plusieurs Kniwwelinos de se connecter entre eux ou à Internet. Par ailleurs, l’implémentation de protocoles standards supportant l’Internet des objets (ou IoT pour Internet of Things), tel que MQTT, Kniwwelino permettra de s’intégrer facilement à des installations IoT existantes. Enfin, la petite taille du circuit imprimé permet d’intégrer Kniwwelino dans presque tous les objets que pourraient fabriquer les enfants afin de donner libre cours à leur imagination.

Comment se procurer Kniwwelino ?

Kniwwelino est disponible sur Electronic-Shop.lu.

Outils

Logiciels

Programmation visuelle en ligne disponible sur http://code.kniwwelino.lu

Programmation visuelle offline avec KniwwelinoBlockly (version desktop) 

Librairie Kniwwelino Arduino disponible sur GitHub - pour les experts

 

Documentation et instructions

Instructions et exemples de projet disponible sur http://doku.kniwwelino.lu/ .

Les partenaires

Kniwwelino est développé par le LIST dans le cadre du projet Bee Creative for Kids, soutenu par le FNR et en collaboration avec le SNJ et SCRIPT. Un grand merci à tous les partenaires qui soutiennent Kniwwelino de différentes manières.

Contact

Vous voulez apprendre plus sur notre projet?

Une initiative du Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
5, avenue des Hauts Fourneaux
L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette
Tel: +352 275 888-1  / Mail: infolistlu